29 March, 2010

Tee Keat, Ka Ting Accept Defeat, Dr Mahathir Hopes MCA Members Will Accept Dr Chua

Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat, who lost the MCA presidency at the party's elections Sunday, said he accepted the delegates' decision with an open heart.

He said he would now concentrate on discharging his duties as the Pandan member of parliament.

"We will carry out a post-mortem; there is no need to make any conclusion at this juncture. Win or lose, we should accept the result.

"To me, I'm still a member of parliament and I will continue discharging my duties; this is my commitment to the voters in the area," he told reporters at Wisma MCA after the poll results were announced.

Meanwhile, Ka Ting said he too accepted the defeat with an open heart.

He expressed the hope that the new leadership would be able to unite the party.

"This is democracy," he said, "there will always be losers and winners."

"I hope the winners will perform their duties for the party and people. It will be up to the new leadership and it is their responsibility to unite the party," he said.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad hopes that the MCA members will accept the election of Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek as party president.

"The members have expressed their choice and I hope that the whole MCA will accept it. The loser must accept it and the victor must also accept the loser as part of the MCA.

"God willing, the MCA can run smoothly," he said.

Asked whether the sex scandal involving Dr Chua would burden the party, he said the decision showed that the party members had put the issue behind them.

"If the members are mature, they have to accept the decision of the majority as in any democracy," he said.

Asked on the possibility that others may not accept the result in the context of strengthening the party he said: "We may not be able to accept but it's not our party."

Following is the list of MCA's new office-bearers after the party's elections Sunday:


1. Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek - 901 votes


1. Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai - 1,171 votes


1. Datuk Seri Ng Yen Yen (1,528 votes)

2. Datuk Donald Lim Siang Chai (1,469)

3. Datuk Chor Chee Heung (1,202)

4. Gan Ping Sieu (1,202)


1. Datuk Lee Chee Leong (1,430 votes)

2. Dr Hou Kok Chung (1,312)

3. Senator Heng Seai Kie (1,267)

4. Datuk Wee Jeck Seng (1,175)

5. Toh Chin Yaw (1,142)

6. Tee Siew Kiong (1,141)

7. Datuk Gan Tian Loo (1,117)

8. Datuk Seri Tan Chai Ho (1,114)

9. Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan (1,104)

10. Lee Wei Kiat (1,100)

11. Loh Seng Kok (1,086)

12. Hoh Khai Mun (1,077)

13. Datuk Liew Yuen Keong (1,059)

14. Tan Cheng Liang (1,054)

15. Koh Nai Kwong (1,040)

16. Dr Por Choo Chor (1,037)

17. Tan Ken Ten (999)

18. Kong Sing Chu (981)

19. Datuk Chong Itt Chew (975)

20. Yoo Wei How (974)

21. Tan Ah Eng (969)

22. Wong Koon Mun (953)

23. Datuk Ti Lian Ker (929)

24. Teh Kim Poo (864)

25. Chuah Poh Khiang (851)

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home